The Indian education system, like all other things, initially took its model from the British education system.

Presently it is in the following format:

The academic year of schools across the country usually begins in June/July and ends in March/April.
The phases of education are generally classified into



Lower Kindergarten or (LKG)
The entry level, basically at the age of four-five.
Upper Kindergarten (UKG)


Primary School

From I Standard to the VII StandardHigh or Secondary School


High or Secondary School

The X Standard examination is also known as Matriculation or Secondary School Leaving Certificate (SSLC) or Secondary School Certificate (SSC). This examination is conducted by the State Secondary Education Board in every state.

Apart from the states, the Central Government also has two separate boards to oversee education on a national level in schools which come under its aegis. These boards are the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) and Indian Central School Education Board (ICSE). These schools have classes till the 12th Standard or Plus Two level, as they are known as.

(The reason for having a separate board was to override the problem faced by government employees who get transferred to different locations across the country. Since each state has some compulsory language subjects, it would be difficult for students - say from Maharashtra to suddenly pick up Kannada as a third language in Karnataka)

In most states after one completes the Secondary School final exam X standard, they usually have three options.

One can join various courses that are open to SSC passed students and can include the One year Industrial Training Institute, a two-years 'Teachers' Training Course, a three-year Diploma in any engineering stream. There are plenty of other options, like attempting the staff selection examinations and taking employment in government offices.

The major portal that attracts students is Junior College which is equivalent to the XI and XII or Plus Two Or Higher Secondary (HSC)or Pre-University College (PUC). This is the first area where students need to make a decision of the line which they want to get into.

This can be in three main areas -

Arts or Humanities - The subjects can be any stream from arts, languages, etc. To get a better understanding of what opportunities exist for different streams have a look here. More...

Commerce -Basically pertaining to commercial studies.  More...

Science -Highly coveted for those aiming to be engineers and doctors.  More...

After the completion of this level, students enter the graduation level. Depending upon their performance students can choose subjects of their choice. Engineering and medicine being a highly coveted area, most states have a common entrance test which restricts the number of students who finally get the seats. Of course, many can get the seats without appearing for the tests by paying the capitation fees, or in other words, huge donations ranging from Rs 10,000 to 10,00,000.



Beauty | Mehendi | Recipes | Careers & Jobs | Matrimonials |
| Horoscope | Personal Problems |Sex Education | Doctor Online | |E-Greetings | E-Shopping | Yoga | Destination India | India Virtual Tour | Kids Corner | Baby Names | Jokes | Indian Universities & Colleges | Contests |Weather | News |World Guide | World Time |Currency Convertor

About us | Contact Us | Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use  

Copyright (c) 2000-03 hindustanlink.com. All rights reserved.
Powered By  Web-Link