Life Of Gautam Buddha


Gautama was born as Siddhartha in the Kshatria caste of the Shakya clan in 566 B.C. in Kalpataru, now Lumbini in present day Nepal. Popular legends represent him as the son of a great king, brought up amidst the luxuries of a palace. As he grew into manhood, Siddhartha was caught by the sufferings of the world (old age, disease and death being important of them), left his riches to become an ascetic and sought higher truth. After years of study, meditation and sacrifice, he is known to have found the Nirvana and became the Buddha or the completely enlightened.

In the town of Bodh Gaya, Siddhartha decided that he would sit under a certain fig tree as long as it would take for the answers to the problem of 'sufferings in human life'. He sat there for many days, first in deep concentration to clear his mind of all distractions, then in mindfulness meditation, opening himself up to the truth.

He began to recall all his previous lives. He could see everything that was going on in the entire universe. On the full moon of May, with the rising of the morning star, Siddhartha finally understood the answer to the question of suffering and became the Buddha, which means 'he who is awake'.


It was after attaining his enlightenment; Buddha went to the Deer Park near the holy city of Benares and shared his new understanding and thought with five holy men. They understood immediately and became his disciples. This marked the beginning of the Buddhist community. During his enlightenment he found the answer to three questions. He discovered three great truths of life. Through his teachings he explained these truths in a simple way so that everyone could understand and apply that in their life. For the next forty-five years, the Buddha and his disciples went from place to place in India spreading the Dharma, his teachings. Through his teachings he won the hearts of the people because he dealt with their true feelings. He even advised them not to accept his words on blind faith, but to decide for themselves whether his teachings are right or wrong, then follow them. He encouraged everyone to have compassion for each other and develop their own virtue. The basic teachings of Buddha comprises of the three universal truth, they are as follows:

The Three Universal Truth

1. Nothing is lost in the universe
2. Everything Changes
3. Law of Cause and Effect
Than there were the four noble truths of life. They are as follows:

The Four Noble Truths

1. There is Suffering Suffering is common to all.
2. Cause of Suffering We are the cause of our suffering.
3. End of Suffering Stop doing what causes suffering.
4. Path to end Suffering Everyone can be enlightened.

The Noble Eightfold Path

1. Right View.
2. Right Thought.
3. Right Speech.
4. Right Conduct.
5. Right Livelihood.
6. Right Effort.
7. Right Mindfulness.
8. Right Concentration.

About Buddha Purnima / Jayanti

Rituals and Celebrations






Beauty | Mehendi | Recipes | Careers & Jobs | Matrimonials |
| Horoscope | Personal Problems |Sex Education | Doctor Online | |E-Greetings | E-Shopping | Yoga | Destination India | India Virtual Tour | Kids Corner | Baby Names | Jokes | Indian Universities & Colleges | Contests |Weather | News |World Guide | World Time |Currency Convertor

About us | Contact Us | Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use   

Copyright (c) 2000-07 All rights reserved.

Powered By Web-link


Partner Links: Articles | Web Hosting India | Logo & Web Design | Bookmark your site | Airlines | Send Gifts to India | Mobile | SMS | Bollywood blog
Mehndi Blog | Mehndi / Heena | Gadgets | Manoj Jain's blog